LibGuides: Media and Communication Studies: Statistics and other online subject resources

Media statistics

List of newspapers
A list of online newspapers from the whole world (all of them are not free)
The swedish press and broadcasting authority
A government agency under the Ministry of Culture. The goal of the media policy is to support freedom of expression, diversity, mass media independence and accessibility as well as to counter the harmful effects of the media.
Nieman Lab journalistik-analyssajten
A project of the Nieman Foundation at Harvard. The Nieman Journalism Lab is an attempt to help journalism figure out its future in an Internet age.
NORDICOM The Nordic Information Centre for Media and Communication Research
Research in media and communication from Gothenburg university. The International Clearinghouse on Children, Youth and Media. E-Publications.
World Politics Review
World Politics Review (WPR) is an online information service for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs.

British Film Institute work to help shape film strategy and policy in the UK
European Film gateway, EFG gives you quick access to hundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques
Internet Movie Database, IMDb includes millions of movies, TV and entertainment programs and cast and crew members
Svenska Filminstitutet har i uppgift att stödja produktion, distribution och visning av värdefull film, att bevara och tillgängliggöra det svenska filmarvet samt att representera den svenska filmen internationellt
Mediecenter Värmland Students and staff at Karlstad University can stream or borrow DVD films from the Mediecenter Värmland after creating an account. More information.
The University Library also has a collection of DVD films for lending.

European Commission Trade Statistics - Bilateral data for the EU and its trading partners. Trading partner summaries have details on trade worldwide for the partner country.
NationMaster - Statistical data and ranking and other relevant information from various sources
SCB - Statistics Sweden (see international statistics)

Licensed databases:

Business Source Premier - Contains a variety of reports on business and economic conditions in several countries; Country reports, Industry Profiles, Market research reports, Product Reviews, SWOT Analyses
Communication Source - was developed from a merger of "Communication and Mass Media Complete" and "Communication Abstracts". Includes the full text of more than 600 publications indexing ca 1000 publications (Communication, Linguistics, Rhetoric and Discourse, Speech-Language Pathology, Media Studies). Coverage goes back to 1915.

Free resources: