Informatics

Where should I start: Google, library catalogs or databases?

The best search strategies include a variety of search tools to find diverse sources of information. For instance you could start with the library catalog, One Search, a subject-based database or a generic search engine - they are all options depending on your search question or assignement. You will learn more about different search tools and resources that are suitable for your needs in this subject guide.

• Lecture Notes in Computer science - A series of books published by Springer
• Business Source Premier - Subject database
• IEEE Xplore - 
  Database from IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers,an international organization)
• SiteSeer - Scientific Literature Digital Library and search engine
• AIS eLibrary - Association for Information Systems offer you access to some of the most prominent journals in the field of information systems
• ACM Digital Library -  Full-Text Collection of all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.Utges av Association for Computing Machinery

• • • Academic Search Elite - a database that indexes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals. Covering virtually every area of academic study, offers full text information dating as far back as 1985.
    • ISI Web of Science - a citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
    • PsychInfo -  contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
    • Sage -  includes scholarly peer reviewed articles on a variety of subjects from one publisher, SAGE.
    • Science Direct - a cross-disciplinary academic database, contains over 1800 Elsevier journals, with full text generally available from  1995.
    • Scopus - a multi-disciplinary, bibliographic database that indexes the content of over 15,000 peer-reviewed journals.
    • Wiley Online -  from publishers John Wiley & Sons and Blackwell Publishing, contains online full text editions of most of their journals

Use the journal list to find journals

You find the journals the Library subscribes to in the journal list. The search can be done either by the first letter of the journal title, or by words contained in the title.

Most of the journals are available in electronic form and access is restricted to the University campus. Students and staff members have access to them from home.

Some journals are only available in print. These cannot be borrowed from the Library, but you may copy the articles you need.

MIS Journals and Journal Rankings
here you can see what journals are highly ranked in informatics (information systems management). You have  access to several via the library.

Harvard Business Publishing restricts access to Harvard Business Review's 500 most popular articles to "read-only" in Business Source Premier. The full text of the HBR 500 articles can be accessed but cannot be saved, printed, or linked to from a persistent url. Harvard Business Publishing does not allow the use of the HBR 500 articles in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources.

Briefly:

The 500* Articles may be read online but not downloaded or saved

The 500* Articles may not be put/linked to Canvas.