Film Studies

Here you can search for journal articles in both interdisciplinary and subject-based databases.

If you do not know which database to select, or to search more generally or at broader level use the Library’s OneSearch. If you are unsure which search terms you should choose, you could also try a search in Google Scholar.

• Communication Source - offers full-text content pertaining to communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
• Project Muse - offers digital full-text access to humanities and social science scholarship from leading university presses and scholarly publishers.
• IIPA - International Index to Performing Arts Full Text. An index of about 210 periodicals which covers the variety of performing arts including dance, film, television, theater, and related subjects.
• Sondera - Search simultaneously in NAD, LIBRIS and SMDB to get an overview of how a person or an event is documented in TV, radio, writing and original documents.

• Academic Search Premier - A general database that indexes articles from both popular magazines and scholarly journals.
• ISI Web of Science - a citation database that includes the Web of Science (Science Citation Index, 1900-present, the Social Science Citation Index, 1956-present, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, 1975-present) and Journal Citation Reports (JCR).
• Sage - includes scholarly peer reviewed articles on a variety of subjects from Sage.
• Science Direct - a cross-disciplinary academic database, with full text generally available from  1995.
• Wiley Online - contains online full text editions of most of journals from publishers John Wiley & Sons and Blackwell Publishing

How to read a scientific article by USU Libraries (02:11).

Using Google Scholar